The Job Search…

As of August 2009, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics announced that America is currently at 9.6% unemployment. Scary! Some states like Ohio and Michigan are even at higher rates of unemployment and not seeing any hope of ending the job drought soon. What has happened to our great nation and what are Americans feeling?

I have had personal experience as one of the hundreds-of-thousands who are unemployed. My job of the past two years ended the last day of June 2009 and I just found a position three days ago with a company that will keep me financially afloat and allow me to have a flexible schedule for my involvement with entertainment projects.

It was quite scary not having job during one of the most exciting times of my life—marrying the love of my life and starting our new life together. It took faith, trust, and major communication tools for my husband Kris and I to stay within our budget and talk about the important details of our finances.

Grow closer through everything!

Grow closer through everything!

No one likes to say they’re unemployed. No one likes to say they’re struggling financially. But, why are we so ashamed? Are we too wrapped in our own pride and pity parties to realize that the guy or girl next to us at the bank might also be overwhelmed with fear about how they’re going to pay their bills this month?

So, what should we do to overcome this historical period of unemployment in our country and destroy the disease of fear that is more dangerous than the financial burdens we face?

My loving, wise husband gave me some valuable advice that I will never forget: The only thing to fear is fear itself. He also reminded me that I have no excuse for not being happy if I don’t make the most of each day to enjoy the little things of life. I don’t need money or Starbucks to make me happy! (Ouch! That’s a BIG step of surrender for me! I’m a Starbucks fein!)

I’m learning during our recession how to be resourceful. Here are a few ways that Kris and I have been resourceful to save money and get money:

1. Return any items (clothes, gifts, etc.) that have the tags on them and you know you don’t need if they don’t have sentimental value.

2. Unplug appliances, cell phone chargers, toasters, curling irons, etc. when not using them. Turn up the temperature on your air conditioning during the day when you’re not home. Turn off the TV or computers when you’re not using them.

3. Sell items (books, DVDs, furniture, etc.) on fun online markets like Amazon, Craigslist, ebay, etc.

These are just a few ideas that may be able to help you clean up your house and also put more cash in your pocket for sweet treats or important bills.

Don’t underestimate the power of creativity and prayer! ha! This is our time to explore our numerous talents and gifts as human beings. Apply for jobs that you have never tried and re-vamp your resume on websites like VisualCV.com.

Any way you look at it, we’re all in this together! So, make the most of it and draw together with those you love during tough times.

~ by Jennifer M. Bittinger on September 24, 2009.

One Response to “The Job Search…”

  1. I know what you mean Jenny!
    We cook at home and try not to go out to eat, use coupons as often as possible. Buy coffee instead of going to starbucks ; ). Shop thrift stores and consignment shops instead of buying brand new, use redbox and the library for movies and wait instead of going to the theater. Keep your ears open for freebies! Restaurants are always offering free food somewhere sometime….free is always amazing!
    Keep track of what you do spend, you’d be amazed when you start tracking every dollar how much that weekly tropical smoothie starts adding up! Or that weekly movie night.
    These are things we do!

Leave a Reply

 
