Jobs…why do they control us?

You get up at 6 a.m. five days a week for at least 30 to 50 years of your life…just to be put in a seniors apartment or nursing home where your money is viciously taken from you for the outrageous rent you have to pay for care and services. At that point, you’ll probably be thinking… “why didn’t I take control of my life instead of letting my job take control of me?”

Many people in our country have thought these things for years or something similar. The “American Dream” has been beaten into us so much from the time we are children that to think that there is anything more successful than a career is foolish! WHY????

We define ourselves by our jobs, cars, houses, pets, childrens’ successes, and traveling exploits. We think it’s foolish to live in a simple one-bedroom apartment to pay off school loans

The American Dream

instead of paying higher rent for a larger home and postpone our indebtedness.

Personally, I am just as guilty. I have to daily remind myself of the endless joys that I am given and that I have the privilege of enjoying time with those I love. Yes, my husband and I have daily jobs that pay our bills and give us the little luxuries that we enjoy together, but we don’t define ourselves or our happiness on whether we get a promotion or a raise. Life is too short to place that kind of pressure on our shoulders.

My probelm is that I look at others too much. I base my happiness on the things that I don’t have. It’s a struggle at times to park my silver Honda Civic next to the new Jaguar or Lexus at work, but then I slap myself and say, “Hey, Jen, you are blessed! Don’t forget how excited you were to get this car when your old car was totalled in an accident two years ago!” Yep, my mind was brought back to reality!

Ask yourself: What are you controlled by and will it bring a smile to your face in 30 years?

Re-think your priorities and join me in being grateful for our many blessings. We’re alive and have today to enjoy!

~ by Jennifer M. Bittinger on March 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
